Why do some clients appear twice in the ESET Remote Administrator Console?

KB Solution ID: SOLN707|Last Revised: September 12, 2014

Issue

  • Client workstations appear twice in the Clients tab of the ESET Remote Administrator Console

 

Solution

A common cause of this issue is the presence of two Network Interface Cards on a single client workstation.To resolve this issue:

I. Enable mac address renaming

  1. Open the ESET Remote Administrator Console (ERAC) by clicking Start All Programs ESET ESET Remote Administrator Console ESET Remote Administrator Console.
     
  2. Click Tools Server Options.
     
  3. Click the Advanced tab (version 3.x: Other Settings) Edit Advanced Settings.

    Figure 1-1

  4. Expand ESET Remote Administrator ERA Server Settings Advanced.

    Figure 1-2
    Click the image to view larger in new window

  5. Click Enable MAC address renaming (from valid to another valid), select the check box next to Yes / No and then click Console Yes to save your changes.

    Figure 1-3
    Click the image to view larger in new window

  6. Click OK to close the Server Options window. Close and then re-open ERAC. Verify that no client workstations are listed twice in the Clients tab. 

    NOTE:

    If there are client workstations that still appear twice, proceed to part II.

     

 II. Delete old client workstations

There are two methods for deleting old client workstations that still appear in the Clients tab of the ESET Remote Administrator Console:

Method 1

  1. Right-click the client workstation you want to delete, click Delete and then click Yes to confirm.

    Figure 2-1
    Click the image to view larger in new window

Method 2

  1. Click Tools Server Options. Click the Advanced tab and then click Edit Advanced Settings.

    Figure 3-1

  2. Expand Remote Administrator ERA Server Settings Server maintenance Time interval cleanup Clients logs cleanup and select Delete clients not connected for the last (base value). Enter a number into the Value field that is less than the interval after which the server last checked in.

    Figure 3-2
    Click the image to view larger in new window

  3. Select Delete clients base value and select Days from the Value drop-down menu. Click Console Yes to save your changes.

    Figure 3-3
    Click the image to view larger in new window

  4. Click OK to exit the Server Options window. Your old clients should no longer appear in the Clients tab of the ESET Remote Administrator Console.

 

Rate this article:
1 2 3 4 5
Please comment on your rating...
We cannot respond to feedback from this form. Requests for assistance should be submitted through your normal support channel.
5 - Definitely
4 - Mostly
3 - Somewhat
2 - Not Really
1 - Not At All